We became Hochschulperle 2019!

We were awarded the Hochschulperle of the Month of January by the Stifterverband and thereby qualified to become the Hochschulperle of the year 2019. With the help of much more than 2000 voters, we won the award in a real voting thriller.

Ethics for Nerds

Computer science and the research associated with it increasingly shape our society. Computer scientists are (at least partially) responsible for many of these developments. To make the future better and fairer, prospective computer scientists need the right tools to meet the corresponding and, most importantly, legitimate expectations of society.

Our answer to this situation is Ethics for Nerds, a lecture at Saarland University which raises awareness for the challenges of today. It is aimed at students of computer science and related subjects. The course provides the necessary skills and teaches the basics of ethics.

Ethics for Nerds

Face recognition, armed drones, models that predict human behavior, and algorithms that produce filter bubbles, echo chambers and support tribalism and undermine democracy informatics-related research and development increasingly shape our society in many different ways. Many of these ways are not good, yet these technological achievements could also help to solve many problems and improve the lives of millions and billions of people.

While computer scientists do not bear the sole and full responsibility for making the world a better place, they definitely are partially responsible for the effects of their work. Nevertheless, they are mostly left alone with this observation. They are neither thaught the methodological or philosophical background, nor the right skills to live up to their responsibility. Instead, they are often left alone with ethical and societal issues of their work.

Our response at Saarland University is Ethics for Nerds, a lecture designed by philosophers and computer scientists for students of informatics and related subjects.

Find out more about the lecture and its contents, the team behind it, and the course’s history.

Ethics for Nerds in the media

Over the years, Ethics for Nerds and its team members have been covered in the media multiple times. Here is a ‘best of’.

June 2015: First Coverage in Deutschlandfunk

In June 2015, Holger Hermanns and Ulla Wessels were guests for an interview on Deutschlandfunk. The combination of Philosophy and Informatics was instantly noted as something new and interesting.

Early 2017: Podcast: Zündfunk Generator

In 2017, Ethics for Nerds acted as both, topic and eponym, for the Zündfunk Generator Podcast by Bayrischer Rundfunk. Alexandra Distler interviewed Kevin Baum. The episode was later awarded the Journalist Prize for Informatics in the category radio broadcasting.

September 2019: Ethics for Nerds 2019 at Deutschlandfunk
January 2019: a ZEIT article

An article published in ZEIT, authored by a professor from Ruhr-University Bochum, calls for more lectures like Ethics for Nerds.

Zündfunk Generator - Ethik für Nerds

by Alexandra Distler | https://www.br.de/radio/bayern2/programmkalender/ausstrahlung-1090012.html

Wir sind Hochschulperle 2019!

Wir wurden vom Stifterverband der Deutschen Wissenschaft zur Hochschulperle des Monats Januar 2019 gewählt. Dank sehr engagierter Beteiligung von mehr als zweitausend SMS-Wählern konnten wir in einem echten Wahl-Krimi auch die Abstimmung zum Jahrespreis für uns entscheiden und sind nun Hochschulperle des Jahres 2019.

Ethics for Nerds

Informatik prägt zunehmend unsere Gesellschaft — und dafür sind, wenig überraschend, auch Informatiker*innen verantwortlich. Um die Zukunft besser und gerechter zu gestalten, brauchen angehende Informatiker*innen allerdings mehr als exzellente technische Fähigkeiten, sondern müssen mitunter auch Antworten auf gesellschaftliche und moralische Fragen geben können.

Deshalb haben wir Ethics for Nerds ins Leben gerufen, eine Vorlesung an der Universität des Saarlandes, die die Studierenden der Informatik und verwandter Fächer für die Herausforderungen dieser Zeit sensibilisiert, ihnen die notwendigen Kompetenzen vermittelt und Grundlagen der Ethik beibringt.

Ethics for Nerds

Gesichtserkennung; bewaffnete Drohnen; Modelle, die Vorhersagen über menschliches Verhalten machen; Algorithmen, die Filterblasen erzeugen; Echokammern, die den Tribalismus unterstützen und die Demokratie untergraben Forschung und Entwicklung im Bereich der Informatik prägen unsere Gesellschaft auf vielfältige Weise. Viele dieser Wege sind nicht gut, aber die technologischen Errungenschaften könnten auch helfen, viele Probleme zu lösen und das Leben von Millionen und Milliarden Menschen zu verbessern.

Informatiker*innen tragen zwar nicht alleine die Verantwortung dafür, die Welt zu verbessern, aber sie sind sie doch wesentlich mitverantwortlich für die Auswirkungen, die ihre Arbeit hat. Dennoch werden Informatiker*innen mit dieser Feststellung meist allein gelassen. Ihnen wird weder der methodische oder philosophische Hintergrund, noch die richtigen Kompetenzen vermittelt, um ihrer Verantwortung gerecht werden zu können. Stattdessen werden sie häufig mit den moralischen und gesellschaftlichen Aspekten ihrer Arbeit allein gelassen.

Unsere Antwort an der Universität des Saarlandes auf diese Problematik ist Ethik für Nerds, eine von Philosoph*innen und Informatiker*innen gestaltete Vorlesung für Studierende der Informatik und verwandter Fächer.

Finden Sie mehr heraus über die Vorlesung und ihre Inhalte, über das Team dahinter und die Geschichte des Kurses.

Ethics for Nerds in den Medien

Over the years, Ethics for Nerds and its team members have been covered in the media multiple times. Here is a ‚best of‘.

Juni 2015: Erster Beitrag zur Vorlesung im Deutschlandfunk
Im Juni 2015 waren Holger Hermanns und Ulla Wessels zu Gast zu einem Interview beim Deutschlandfunk. Die Kombination aus Philosophie und Informatik wird sofort aufgegriffen und erzeugt Interesse.
Führjahr 2017: Podcast Zündfunk generator
2017 war Ethics for Nerds das Thema und namensgebend für eine Folge des Zündfunk_Generator Podcast des Bayerischen Rundfunks. Alexandra Distler interviewte Kevin Baum. Die Episode gewann später den Journalistenpreis Informatik in der Kategorie Hörfunk.
September 2019: Ethics for Nerds 2019 im Deutschlandfunk

Zündfunk Generator - Ethik für Nerds

von Alexandra Distler | https://www.br.de/radio/bayern2/programmkalender/ausstrahlung-1090012.html