Core Team

Prof. Holger Hermanns

Prof. Holger Hermanns

Patron

Durin a project on space debris, Holger Hermanns realized that computer scientists could at times need some ethical expertise. He saw the need for a course on ethics for computer scientists, and approached the Department of Philosophy at Saarland University. There, he met Kevin Baum – and Ethics for Nerds was born. The rest is history. Since then, the course has been organized by his chair.

Kevin Baum

Kevin Baum

Lecturer

Having both a Master’s degree in philosophy and in computer science, Kevin Baum was the perfect man for the job. He conceptualized Ethics for Nerds and made the idea a reality. First as a proseminar, and then as a lecture. Besides his job as a lecturer, he is enroled in two doctoral research programmes. At the Department of Philosophy, he is working on ethics of collective action. In Computer Science, he is concerned with the interplay between machine ethics and machine explainability. On top of that, he is part of the Volkswagen Foundation project Expainable Intelligent Systems, whose research is closely related to topics of Ethics for Nerds.

Sarah Sterz

Sarah Sterz

Lecturer

Sarah Sterz has been with the course for the entire time of its existence, though not always as a member of the team. In the very first iteration of the course, she was a student herself. She then became the tutor and eventually lectured the course herself. In effect, she knows the course inside out and from all perspectives. After completing her bachelor’s degree in Computer Science, Sarah switched sides and went on to receive a master’s degree in Philosophy. She now pursues a doctoral degree in philosophy.

Extended Team

Maximilian Köhl

Maximilian Köhl

Next Generation Associate

He is a former student of the lecture and later became a teaching assistant for the course. At the moment, Maximilian is finishing his master’s programme in Philosophy – inspired by Ethics for Nerds.

Timo Speith

Timo Speith

First Hour Associate

He, too, is a former student of the very first iteration of the course and has been involved as a teaching assistent ever since. After his bachelor’s degree in Philosophy, he completed a master’s degree in Computer Science. Today, Timo is doing his doctorate on machine explainabiliy, once again in Philosophy.

Nikolai Käfer

Nikolai Käfer

Associate

He took the course as a student in its second iteration and has worked as a teaching assistant many times since.

Alumni

Lea Gröber

Lea Gröber

Former Teaching Assistant

She took the course as a student in its very first iteration and was a teaching assistant in the second and third iteration of the course.

Daniel Oster

Daniel Oster

Former Teaching Assistant

As a philosopher, he took the course as part of a facultative module during his master’s programme. Later, he became a very valuable teaching assistant and still occasionally deputizes when the course is short-staffed. He is now doing his Ph.D. on questions of machine explainability in Philosophy.

Kernteam

Holger Hermanns

Holger Hermanns

Schirmherr, Förderer, Pate

Während eines Projekts mit Bezug zu Weltraummüll, realisierte Holger, dass Informatiker*innen manchmal etwas ethische Expertise benötigen. So erkannte er die Notwendigkeit eines Ethikkurses für Informatiker*innen und wandte sich an das Philosophische Institut der Universität des Saarlandes, wo er Kevin Baum kennen lernte – und Ethik für Nerds war geboren. Der Rest ist Geschichte. Seitdem wird der Kurs von seinem Lehrstuhl veranstaltet.
Kevin Baum

Kevin Baum

Lecturer

Kevin Baum, der sowohl einen Master-Abschluss in Philosophie als auch in Informatik hat, war der perfekte Mann für den Job. Er hat die Ethics for Nerds konzipiert und zur Wirklichkeit gemacht, zuerst noch als Proseminar, dann als Vorlesung. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Dozent promoviert Kevin sowohl in Philosophie (zur Ethik kollektiver Handlungen) als auch in Informatik (zum Zusammenspiel von Maschinenethik und Maschinenerklärbarkeit). Außerdem ist er Teil des von der Volkswagenstiftung geförderten Projekts Explainable Intelligent Systems, dessen Forschungsgegenstand eng mit den Themen der Vorlesung verbunden ist.
Sarah Sterz

Sarah Sterz

Dozentin

Sie hat den Kurs Zeit seines Bestehens begleitet, wenn auch nicht immer als Mitglied des Teams: In der ersten Iteration des Kurses war sie selbst Studentin, wurde dann Tutorin und schließlich selbst Dozentin. So kennt sie den Kurs aus dem Effeff und aus allen Perspektiven. Sarah wechselte, motiviert durch die Vorlesung, nach dem Bachelor in Informatik die Seiten und machte ihren Master in Philosophie, wo sie jetzt zu vertrauenswürdiger KI promoviert.

Erweitertes Team

Maximilian Köhl

Maximilian Köhl

Mitglied der ersten Stunde

Er ist ein ehemaliger Student der Vorlesung und war auch später als Tutor aktiv. Gerade macht er, neben seiner Promotion in der Informatik, einen Master in Philosophie – inspiriert durch Ethics for Nerds.
Timo Speith

Timo Speith

Mitglied der ersten Stunde

Auch er ist ein ehemaliger Student des allerersten Iterationskurses und ist seitdem als Tutor tätig. Nach seinem Bachelor in Philosophie absolvierte er den Master in Informatik und promoviert heute zu Maschinenerklärbarkeit wieder in Phillosophie. Ein echter Wandler zwischen den Welten.
Nikolai Käfer

Nikolai Käfer

Tutor

Er hat den Kurs als Student in der zweiten Iteration absolviert und ist seitdem mehrfach als Tutor tätig gewesen.

Alumni

Lea Gröber

Lea Gröber

Ehemalige Tutorin

Sie belegte den Kurs als Studentin in der allerersten Iteration und war Tutorin in der zweiten und dritten Iteration des Kurses.
Daniel Oster

Daniel Oster

Ehemalige Tutorin

Als Philosoph belegte er den Kurs im Rahmen seiner freien Punkte im Master Philosophie. Später war er ein sehr wertvoller Tutor und ist auch heute noch gelegentlich Stellvertreter, wann immer Not am Mann ist. Er promoviert mittlerweile in Philosophie zu Fragen der Maschinenerklärbarkeit.